oh, the clutter

clutter.

it’s a terrible thing, ya know.

yesterday we had the wonderful opportunity of helping my mother move. who likes the task of moving? no one i’m sure. it’s stressful and a major pain in the butt.

i dreaded the weekend. didn’t want to wake up. i was just hoping the whole day would just go away. it was bad enough that i had a ton of things i needed to do already, you know, like making sure i had my NABLOPOMO post written, getting my car inspected, buying diapers and the general saturday morning running around. tacking “moving” onto my day was just a hot mess.

it didn’t help that my mother wanted to keep EVERYTHING. it’s a problem in my family. we like to keep stuff. even the smallest things hold some type of sentimental value to us for some reason. i guess we all need group therapy.

i’m not 1/10 as bad as my grandmother or my mother, but i do have STUFF. i have notes that me and my friends used to pass back and forth in high school, i have old college papers and projects (i threw out most of them last year though…), i have books that borrowed from the library when i was ten (yeah, i’m sure i owe big time!), and i have a bottle of wine that was given to me and signed on my 21st birthday by all the girls who lived on my dorm floor in college. it just kinda goes on and on.

i’m always surprised when i visit the homes of my friends and they don’t have STUFF. not that all of my stuff is just sitting out. lots of it is in a big trunk, but still. i have other stuff out that for some reason means a lot to me and i just can’t put it away. like a music box my pop gave to me when i was a little girl and a brick that i brought home from my late grandmother’s house after we sold her house. i mean, how do you just chuck that kinda stuff out??

my husband doesn’t like the fact that i like to hang onto certain things. like all of these:

books2_edited-1.jpg

books. i have books everywhere. they’re coming out of our ears, but it’s not as bad as it was a few years ago when they were literally climbing up the walls. but i could probably open a small bookstore with ease. actually, i sorta did last year when i sold a bunch of them on amazon.com. i also have 9 years worth of magazines from when i had my entertainment magazine gig. 9 x 12 is a heck of a lot of magazines. but how do i just ditch ’em? mannnnn, that’s a lot of sweat and tears that went into those pages!!

books3.jpg

oh, and let’s not talk about our cds. we’ve got tons and tons of cds. i’ve sold a bunch of them too, but still…

cds1_edited-1.jpg

the collection just grows and grows and they’re an eyesore and i’m sick of looking at them. i like listening to them. don’t like seeing them.

i think my husband is a little nervous that one day i’ll collect so much stuff that we’ll have to create a pathway to even walk in our home (trust me, we’re not even close to that, but we know a few who are…), but i’ve promised him it won’t ever get that bad. i go through my clothes at least twice a year and donate clothes and shoes and it actually feels good to get rid of junk.

getting rid of junk makes me happy and that’s a good thing. 🙂

7 thoughts on “oh, the clutter

  1. I know you’re trying to reduce your number of books, and I know this won’t be helpful in that regard, but I detect you are a book lover, like me. I wanted to share with you a post I wrote about “Exquisite Home Libraries, in Photos.” My favorite personally is the Professor’s Library. I would give anything to have a home library like this!

    Please see the photo post at:

    http://winewriter.wordpress.com/2007/10/11/some-exquisite-home-libraries-in-pictures/

    Best regards,
    Madame Monet
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordpress.com

  2. I have the opposite problem… I’m quick to throw stuff out. Even the champagne bottle from my 21st…and things you shouldn’t throw out without God striking you down like rosary beads. Isn’t there a healthy medium?

  3. I can totally relate to the clutter factor. After having made two major moves, I’ve purged most of my books. The CDs though…that’s crazy! My hubby is in the music industry so he gets 5-10 CDs daily and I have no clue what to do with them.

  4. yep, kat, that’s why we have so much junk!! i used to get the same amount of cds and books when i worked in the industry and it’s just nuts! i’ve tried to weed out the crappy ones, but we still have a massive collection.

Leave a Reply

