happy 7th birthday, dutchie!

i was a writer before this blog. i know, i know…you can barely tell from all of my typos, grammatical errors, run-on sentences and my obsession with ellipsis. but anyway, after leaving my editorial gig several years ago i was struggling to find my creative self. i mean, majorly struggling! i was a new wife, a new mama, not writing professionally anymore. it was like a tornado had come in and swept through my life and switched things up. only it was a sweet tornado, you know, like a funnel of skittles and cotton candy and strawberry sauce. but still, nothing looked the same anymore.

then i discovered blogging and what do you know, my dutchie had given me a reason to write again. i never intended to be a “mom blogger,” and still don’t describe myself that way. i’ve always just been a writer whose beat, if you will, happened to be her own child. and, of course, any other thing that strikes my fancy.

and why not write about dutch? this boy is crazy funny and witty and super smart and curious and picky beyond belief. he’s honest (too honest, almost – he got that from his dad) and stubborn (all me right there!) and so daggone determined. he’s his own person with his own definitive tastes and likes and dislikes and cannot be swayed. he’s much like his brother in that way and i love that about the both of them.

dutch can be so caring and ultra loving and sweeter than cherry pie in one minute and then drive me completely insane with his strong-willed spirit of steel in the next. this child is the exact opposite of what i imagined he’d be (and i’m sure my husband will agree! haha…), yet his personality has been the most beautiful surprise ever.

i wouldn’t dare try to pin down what i think he’ll be when he grows up, but i’m sure whatever it is he’s gonna be great at it.

happy 7th birthday, dutchie!! i’m sure you’ve got plenty more ways up your sleeve to surprise us.

 

 

Leave a Reply

